Topo Chico (Final Chapter)

I’ve been avoiding writing this post for a long time.  Too long.  Months…  It’s time.

Sadly, on November 17th, Topo Chico was hit by a car and died almost instantly.  We try to tell ourselves that it wasn’t the driver’s fault.  Maybe it was.  Driving too fast.  Too carelessly.  But then no, Topo Chico was careless around cars.  Who knows.  Does it really matter?  Topo Chico is gone.  We were heartbroken  and will always be although it doesn’t hurt as much today as it did that terrible day and for many days after.

Topo Chico will always hold a special place in our hearts.  He might not have been beautiful in the eyes of others but he was incredibly guapo to us.  He probably would have always been a little bit of a wild and feral dog but he loved us and we loved him.  He had come so far.  He somehow found a willingness to trust us through all the medications, leash training, and every other way we tried to domesticate him.

We miss him.

2 thoughts on “Topo Chico (Final Chapter)

  1. The pictures of Topo Chico give me a lump in my throat. They are beautiful and they show what a good time he was having playing with the ball. You gave him some very happy times. I hope that Lillie is responding to your love and care. Any progress with the shoulder? We go along o.k. here, I guess, but your Mom is a skeleton.l I wonder each day how long she can last but, on the other hand, I hope she won’t last too long and kill your Dad in the process. We lost her long ago. We don’t want to lose your Dad. Sorry to be so gloom y.. Actually your Dad seems to do quite well. He goes to lunch every day so gets a change and sits with people he seems to enjoy. Your Mom stays in bed, barely eats, and gets weaker every day. I was asking Philip today about a movie we had seen together some years ago. Andrew and I had been talking about it and couldn’t remember much of it. You may have seen SOME LIKE IT HOT. It is hilarious. Your Dad remembered every bit of it and gave me the title which Andrew and I had long forgotten. So he hasn’t lost his marbles! I am very busy with a sale of Scarves, Jewelry and Handbags that we are giving at Kingspoint Club House on March 30 to benefit Heritage Humane Shelter. I am in an Auxiliary group of about 40 people and last year we raised $130,000 for the Shelter from our Christmas Bazaar, Golf Classic, etc. Our Scarf, etc. will be slim pickins in comparison but I have 100’s of scarves on hand and hope to find them good homes. Everything is donated and the Jewelry is left over from our Christmas sale. Basil is doing quite well for an almost 15 year old but has developed an odd habit that we don’t understand. After his dinner in the evening he starts to bark. This can be a sign he wants to go out so we take him. When he comes in he barks some more and more and more. He will keep it up for 15 minutes or more–just stands and barks–and we have no idea what he wants. This started a couple of months ago and we are still trying to figure it out. He was at the Vet a month ago and has no problems. We’re the ones with problems. We”re going deaf! Love you both. The hernia is all o.k. by now I assume…Wish you’d re-run some picts when you have time. I never got the last batch. lOVE, love, LOVE!!!!!! The Weence

  2. I’m so sorry that this happened. I loved following Topo Chico’s story. The way you guys took care of him and then how each you bonded was beautiful. Hopefully the joy of your time with him will overtake the grief. Be well my friend. -Chris

Leave a comment